Asia Pacific Cardiac Biomarker Webinar

The novel biomarker-based risk score in Atrial Fibrillation: GDF-15 and ABC risk score

Date: Friday, 4 October 2019

Time: 15:00 – 16:00(GMT+8)

Register now

The novel biomarker-based risk score in Atrial Fibrillation: GDF-15 and ABC risk score

Atrial Fibrillation is associated with a 5-fold increased risk of stroke and thus stroke prevention is the fundamental part of management of Atrial Fibrillation (AF) patients. The choice of antithrombotic therapy for AF patients need to balance the risk of stroke against major bleeding.

Compared with non-Asians, the incidence of AF-related risks of stroke and bleeding in Asians is generally higher. By attending this webinar, you will have better knowledge and competence on:

  • The current situation and challenges of stroke prevention in Atrial Fibrillation in Asia Pacific region

  • The introduction of GDF-15 the strongest bleeding marker

  • The clinical utility and validation data of the novel ABC (Age, Biomarker, Clinical History) risk scores in stroke prevention as well as it’s performance

Yes I'd like to attend

Who should attend?

This webinar is intended for cardiologists, neurologists, emergency medicine physicians, general physicians, nurses, laboratory personnel and any other clinicians or specialty who are interested in Atrial Fibrillation patients

Why should you attend?

An in-depth understanding of GDF-15 and ABC Risk Scores in Atrial Fibrillation
  • Live Q&A sessions with world renowned experts
  • 1 CME POINT

Topics:

Current Situation of Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation in Asia Pacific
GDF-15 and ABC Risk Scores in Atrial Fibrillation

This programme is accredited by the European Board for Accreditation in Cardiology (EBAC) for 1 hour of external CME credit. Each participant should claim only 1 hour of credit that have actually been spent in the educational activity. EBAC works according to the quality standards of the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME), which is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS).

Agenda & Speaker Info

Duration Topic Speaker
15 min Current Situation of Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation in Asia Pacific Adj Assoc Prof Ching Chi Keong
30 min GDF-15 and ABC Risk Scores in Atrial Fibrillation Prof Lars Wallentin
15 min Discussion and Q&A All

Moderator & Speaker

Adj Assoc Prof Ching Chi Keong

Adj Assoc Prof Ching is a Senior Consultant with the Department of Cardiology and the Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology and Pacing at the National Heart Centre Singapore.

He is also the committee member of the International Liaison on Resuscitation (ILCOR) since 2012 and has chaired the subcommittee of the Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) of the National Resuscitation Council in Singapore.

Speaker

Prof Lars Wallentin

Prof Wallentin is a Senior Professor of Cardiology and founder of the Uppsala Clinical Research Centre (UCR) at Uppsala University Hospital, Uppsala, Sweden.

The research group has pioneered development of new blood clot inhibitors for stroke prevention in Atrial Fibrillation patients and has also developed novel biomarker-based methods to assess individual patient’s stroke and bleeding risk.

In compliance with EBAC/ EACCME guidelines, all speakers/ chairpersons participating in this programme have disclosed or indicated potential conflicts of interest which might cause a bias in the presentations. The Organizing Committee/Course Director is responsible for ensuring that all potential conflicts of interest relevant to the event are declared to the audience prior to the CME activities.

Live Webinar Date & Time

Date:

Friday, 4 October, 2019

Time:

15:00–16:00

(GMT+08:00)

12:00–13:00

(Karachi)

12:30–13:30

(Delhi)

14:00–15:00

(Bangkok / Ho Chi Minh / Jakarta)

15:00–16:00

(Hong Kong / Kuala Lumpur / Singapore)

16:00–17:00

(Seoul / Tokyo)

17:00–18:00

(Melbourne)

Can’t make it?

Don’t worry, register now to view the recording after the event.

Register Now